

Mar. 16, 2022

RE: DPSFV Supports AB 2534: Survivor Support and Harm Prevention Pilot Program Act

Representatives of the Honorable San Fernando Valley Delegation:

On behalf of the Democratic Party of the San Fernando Valley (DPSFV), we are pleased to report that our Executive Board voted to support AB 2534, which would implement a pilot program in 5 counties that would ensure support system for all victims instead of just victims of reported crimes.

We urge you to please support this important piece of legislation.

DPSFV was founded in 1978 and is chartered by the Los Angeles County Democratic Central Committee. Our organization is the coordinating body for a coalition of Democratic Clubs located in the Assembly Districts which are wholly or partially in the San Fernando Valley.

The DPSFV Political Action Committee met last month to discuss AB 2534 and voted to recommend that the DPSFV Executive Board support this vital piece of legislation. The committee noted that survivor assistance programs are currently only available to victims who have filled police reports against the individual(s) who caused them harm. Emergency services like food, shelter, legal, clothing, and medical care are not available to all crime victims.

In the current support service industry victims are required to report the crimes committed against them in order to receive aid, and sometimes as quickly as 72 hours after the occurrence of the crime; however, 80 percent of the victims are somewhat or extremely afraid to call the police and cooperate in a case against the defendant. In order to get more victims in contact with the support they need e urge you to support AB 2534.

Please note that DPSFV will be tracking this bill as it travels through the Legislature. Your voting record will be noted and may be considered should you ever seek our endorsement. Your office is always welcome to contact DPSFV if you have any questions.

Sincerely and respectfully,

Chair Sean M. Rivas

Democratic Party of the San Fernando Valley

cc: Assembly Members Rivas, Friedman, Gabriel, Nazarian, Bloom, and Bryan (author) Senators Hertzberg, Portantino, Stern, and Allen