

May 20, 2021

RE: DPSFV Supports Assembly Bill 438 [School Layoff Notice Parity]

Representatives of the Honorable San Fernando Valley Delegation:

On behalf of the Democratic Party of the San Fernando Valley (DPSFV), we are pleased to report that our Executive Board voted to support AB 438, which will provide the same layoff notice and hearing rights to school employees regardless of job title.

DPSFV was founded in 1978 and is chartered by the Los Angeles County Democratic Central Committee. Our organization is the coordinating body for a coalition of twenty-one Democratic Clubs located in the six Assembly Districts (38, 39, 43, 45, 46, and 50) which are wholly or partially in the San Fernando Valley.

The DPSFV Political Action Committee met last month to discuss AB 438 and voted to recommend that the DPSFV Executive Board support this vital piece of legislation. The committee noted that this bill standardizes the layoff process so that classified employees receive the same layoff notice and hearing rights as teachers and certificated administrators.

Classified employees are essential workers on the front line of the COVID-19 pandemic. They are taking care of our vulnerable students, preparing and transporting meals, transporting laptops and internet service, cleaning classrooms and cafeterias to ensure safety, and much more. They are putting their lives on the lines to care for our students.

This bill requires districts to plan ahead like they do for teachers, instead of accounting for half of their staff and using the other vulnerable half to balance their budgets. This bill will standardize the process in an equitable way for all employees.

We urge you to support AB 438

Please note that DPSFV will be tracking this bill as it travels through the Legislature. Your voting record will be noted and may be considered should you ever seek our endorsement. Your office is always welcome to contact DPSFV if you have any questions.

Sincerely and respectfully,

Chair Sean M. Rivas

Democratic Party of the San Fernando Valley

cc: Assembly Members Rivas, Friedman, Gabriel, Nazarian, Bloom and Reyes (author) Senators Hertzberg, Portantino, Stern and Allen